Nearing The End.

It’s the end of the world as we know it…. It’s the end of the world as we know it…It’s the end of the world as we know it and I feel fiiiiiiiiine. (sing it with me ya’ll)

This song pops into my head as I think about how close I am to the end of my pregnancy. My world as I know it will end sooner rather than later. This is not a bad thing by any means…in fact, I feel fiiiiiiinnnne (more than fine).

It all happened so fast. I feel as if I just read the pregnancy test (err…4 tests) informing me that there was a little precious life growing in me. Time happens like that sometimes.

I love this little being with all my heart but that is not to say that there aren’t a mix of emotions as my world as I know it comes to an end and a new world begins.

This is the end of my marriage the way it has been for almost three years. I really enjoy my marriage like it is. I enjoy being able to focus my attention on what my husband needs and desires. I enjoy our spontaneous outings and late nights watching TV and sleeping in the next day. I enjoy my time with him and just him.

This is the end of me as I know it. Let’s just be real and say that the 9 months of pregnancy begin to prepare you for what life will look like when a little tiny precious human is more or less dictating what things you can and cannot do.

This is the end of my precious little one being inside my tummy. I think I may have already mentioned that I am going to miss being pregnant (I do cry about this). I CANNOT wait to hold my baby in my arms but I will miss all the little movements inside my tummy…and even the 20 trips to the bathroom that occur in one day.

All of these “ends” only mean great new beginnings in my world. My marriage will grow and be challenged in ways I couldn’t possibly ever imagine. I will become a different type of person, growing in the Lord in new and exciting ways so that I may become all He has created me to be. My precious baby will be in the outside world learning, exploring, and no doubt stealing the hearts of all the family and friends so anxiously awaiting his/her arrival.

Yes, R.E.M. was indeed correct, it’s the end of the world as we know it but notice that they didn’t say it was the end, just the end as we know it.

Can’t wait to know a new world and to see all life as in store for my wonderful crazy life.

-Kristina

Leave a Reply

