Almond Milk! Better than store bought.

I’m coming out of the woodwork (I think thats the proper saying at this time) to bring you this AMAZING almond milk recipe.

BUT FIRST.

I’ve been MIA for many months now. I haven’t had a desire to write in a while. Last semester was exhausting, exciting, exhilarating and so many more adjectives that do not exclusively start with an ‘e’ but it left little room for me to post. In October the hubs and I found out we would be expecting our first little child and so these last past MIA months have been a joyful whirlwind of my first semesters of grad school and my first and most of my second trimester of pregnancy.

I have scaled WAY way back this semester to one class and hope to get back into more blogging here. I have so much to share about my journey with pregnancy including how my trimesters have been, why I hated salad for almost 6 weeks, why I chose a natural home birth, and so much more!

All of these posts will come your way soon but in the mean time this recipe got me so excited I just HAD to share it with all of you ASAP.

I have tried a myriad of homemade almond milk recipes in the past and none of them passed the “HUSBAND APPROVED” stamp (although some have come close) until now. On the 22nd of February the hands of fate came together to bring you the following:

Almond Milk: it’s so much better than store bought it will blow your brains out.

almondmilk

1 cup almonds (that have been previously soaked or sprouted)*

2 cups filtered water

3 pitted medjool dates (that have soaked in warm water until soft)*

generous pinch of salt (I used HIMALAYAN)

Combine all ingredients in a high-speed blender (I use a NINJA). Once “blended” strain the milk through a nut milk bag or cheese cloth with a fine mesh strainer. And boom. You’re done. BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE. Don’t throw away the pulp (leftover almond) and make homemade almond meal too.

*It’s important to soak or sprout your almonds for a number of health reasons but especially for this recipe. I do not know what the outcome will be if you do not. Here’s a quick link for you on how to or simply google soaking almonds.

*Soaking your dates makes it way easier to remove the pit as well as blend and I think this is the key to what finally made this recipe great. I’ve tried in the past to use maple syrup, honey, vanilla extract, etc but dates are by far the better way to go.

This recipe suits my hubby perfectly but is on the sweeter side of life for me. Adjust to your preference.

To make the almond meal from your almond pulp: line a baking sheet with the pulp and dry that puppy out on the lowest setting in your oven or use a dehydrator if you have one (which I do not). Once it’s dry, stick in a food processor and process until meal-like consistency.

One last thing you may be wondering about is why the heck you make your own almond milk in the first place.

The answer is simple: homemade is better for your health (and better for your taste buds too).

The other answer is that if you check out the store bought almond milk you’ll notice something very interesting. What’s that interesting thing you say? The first ingredient of 20 million* is almond milk. “Kristina, duh the first ingredient is almond milk-it’s almond milk.” Yes, but it’s the first one of 20 million*!!!! If you have almond milk why not stop there? Because they want you to have more than just almond milk (how sweet of them), they want you to have almond milk plus tons of forms of sugars, thickeners, carrageen and more. For your health it’s better to have just almond milk.

*20 million is probably a little bit of an exaggeration, it’s probably closer to 20.

How would you feel about a step-by-step picture guide with this recipe? Maybe I will update with pictures next time around.

Enjoy the most amazing almond milk ever!

Kristina

Leave a Reply

