My life in a nutshell….a very large nutshell.

Nutshells are supposed to be small right? Well, I make no promises that this blog will be small. It’s been a little over two months since I last blogged. I’m not proud of it. It’s life sometimes and you just have to role with the punches. My last post brought a ton of new visitors to the blog as well as some heated twitter discussions. I will need to update you with those little gems soon as well as some additional words on the truth behind the nasty fake canola oil found in so many foods these days. BUT, that discussion will have to wait while I update you on my life, why I’ve been gone for so long, why I’m back and where I’m headed.

A life recap of the last couple of months.

Memorial Day weekend one of my closest friends got married. I helped a ton with the running-around-like-a-chicken-with-its-head-cut-off type things. Honestly, I love doing those types of things and I especially love doing those type of things for my friends. The wedding was the beautiful, the bride was beautiful (the groom too), and everything was beautiful. And aside from crying my eyes out for a week before and after everything was great.

The older you get, and I’m not saying I’m old, the more your friendships evolve and people move away and get married and have kids and you have to fight and make conscience efforts to hold on to the friendships you want to hold on to. This is where I’ve been lately. What friendships do I want? What friendships do I care to hold on to? What do my friendships mean? It’s all very hard on me to tell you the truth.

Alright so in June I had a quince for my sweetest little or not so little cousin which was super fun. Miami is always fun to visit with all the delicious Cuban food, the music, the beautiful beaches, and best of all familia. Don’t ever ask me to live there though, ever, but I can visit and have beautiful beach days like the one below.

photo-1

 

Also, did I mention I got my dress for the quince for 40 bucks? You cannot beat that. I dare you to try. Oh and the World Cup started this weekend so my life got sucked into that real quick.

Moving on, I also had a birthday in June! Hooray! Which I celebrated like any normal 22 year old would at Disney World! It was so magical and fun. My hubby and I had never been to Disney just the two of us nor celebrated a birthday totally just me and him. And aside from some food poisoning the trip was perfect. Colombia beat the Ivory Coast, Mickey Ears were eaten, and too many laughs were shared. Such perfection. Don’t believe me? Look how happy we look 🙂

photo

 

Fourth of July week was family vacation week in Bryson City, NC. Such an adorable little city and such a beautiful place to visit. It just so happened that my family was camping sort of nearby where my husband’s family was cabining and so it worked out nicely for all of us to be able to see each other. I don’t have too much to say about the trip except that you could probably have made a movie about it and it would have been filled with lots of ups and downs and Murphy’s Laws. My hubby’s knee is still sore to the touch from when he hit the boulder tubing down Deep Creek in an effort to save his little sister from hitting a rock. Oh, two licenses are better than one especially after you lost the first one and had to pay 25 bucks for a new one. And our bank account got a little bit smaller after the ticket we had to pay for speeding. It’s all laughable now. I realize that sometimes God has a strange way of showing you that He’s got your back. Oh and if you’re ever in Bryson City you have to visit Cork & Bean. The absolute cutest restaurant ever.

The week after 4th of July was my last official week of nannying. I had felt like it was time to either a) focus my energy on grad school or b) find a job in my field. I also wanted a break between doing either. You grow so attached to the kids you nanny and their families and I love nannying for this exact reason but it also makes cutting ties a bit harder. But it’s okay, I try to stay on the radar for the families if they need my help again and who knows I could be back at nannying this time next year.

My cousin was also in town during the duration of all these moments, he came up from Miami with us after the quince, and we got to spend a lot of time together making sweet memories. He is like the coolest kid ever and his little brother, also the coolest kid ever, stayed with us for a week. It was sweet to have nothing to do but spend time with these kiddos.

Alright so there’s my life so far. Glad you care enough to read the whole thing. I’m now past 1000 characters which means this blog post may go down in history as the longest post ever.

Why have I been gone so long? Well the little bits and pieces of my life above may show you some reasons but it’s a little bit more than that. I’ve been out of my groove until the last couple weeks. I had no desire to post. I had no inspiration. Just couldn’t get back into my groove. I don’t know what it was. I barely worked out, like at all actually. I deactivated my Facebook account, one of the better decisions I’ve made. I obviously didn’t post anything. I didn’t want to cook much even though I enjoy cooking. I was just out of my element for a little bit there. Plus, I figured the handful of people reading this wouldn’t miss me much but the truth is I missed it. I missed it more than I thought I would and that’s why I’m back.

So where am I headed from here? Well, as of August 25th I’m officially an FSU student again…yay. It’s just for a year and I’ll have my Masters and I will never set foot inside a classroom ever again!!!! More importantly than that August 1st I start Whole30 with my bestest friend aka my sister (okay, not really sisters but we may as well be) and fellow blogger over at Red Polka Dot Mama. I’m so excited! Like I said earlier, I’ve been feeling very off lately and this has crept into my real wholesome food world a little so I’m hoping Whole30 can help me get my groove back. Click the link for more info but the gist of it is this: Whole REAL food for 30 days which does not include any sugar, grains, legumes, dairy, alcohol, and no treats we real foodies have created to get us through life. Yes, this means no fudge, no pancakes, no cookies, no paleo/vegan/raw/real food treats outside of a banana with some sprinkled cinnamon. I plan to do my best to keep you updated on how it goes for me. I think the things I’ll miss most are my green tea with honey, tortilla chips, popcorn, and quinoa. Oh and no weighing or measuring yourself either! Just so you know what I’m up against August includes my Abuelita’s birthday party and a wedding. But I am excited for the challenge and to see what new food awakenings happen because of it. I believe that health is a journey and there are always new things to try and learn…Whole30 is going to help me do just that.

Alright ladies and gents, that’s my nutshell. My rather large nutshell. I’m headed to visit said friend who got married down south for this whole week! I am beyond words excited! When I get back I can hopefully update you on some rather wonderful crazy things 🙂

Thanks for reading.

Kristina

 

 

Leave a Reply

