Whole Foods, Earth Fare, and Trader Joe’s are lying to you!

Who likes to be lied to? Anybody? Nobody? That’s what I thought.

That’s why I am so pissed when so-called “health” stores lie straight to my face and you should be too!

Do a quick search on any of these “health” store pages and you’ll see words like:

natural

organic

no artificial preservatives

non-GMO

no hormones

no antibiotics

and the list goes on.

And all these words and all these missions and slogans are designed so you do a couple of things. 1) You blindly pick up anything in the store and assume it’s good to put in your body. 2) Profit. Because at the end of the day, these companies will do anything to make money off of you. Even lie straight to your face.

How do they lie? Well in a number of ways like allowing carrageenan in food and still calling it healthy or actually allowing GMOs in their store as was the case here and here.

But perhaps the most frustrating lie is that they not only allow canola oil in everything but, at least with EarthFare and WholeFoods, they sell certified organic canola oil!!! Maybe I should be more pissed at the USDA for even allowing the certification in the first place but I’m not…my anger is directed towards the stores! Liars! All of them!

photo 1 photo 2

Kristina, how can this be a lie? I’m so glad you asked. Let me start by telling you a story followed by a set of riddles followed by some facts on canola oil.

Story: Trying to get my parents to go “100% natural/organic real food” is probably the hardest thing ever being that they both think I’m slightly over the top and a bit skeptical about the whole thing. But for me, it’s so important that they make the switch because I love them and care deeply for them. Second to my husband, my family is the most important thing to me and I hate to see them eating fake chemical laden CRAP. Anyways, so the conversation goes something as follows:

“At the end of the day….Canola oil has to come from something natural just like all oils.” my parents

“Oh really? Where does Canola oil come from?” me

“Um, a canola plant/seed.” my parents

“You would think…but that’s not the whole story.” me

Riddle: If coconut oil comes from coconut and olive oil comes from olives then canola oil should come from……..? If you guessed canola I would mark your test as incorrect…it comes from a rapeseed.

As if the name wasn’t already a little bit alarming the fact that the FDA banned it for human consumption (paragraph 4 in case you want to actually read the link) should make you wonder why we even decided to try to make something out of it. Put rapeseed right up there with poisonous berries or mushrooms.

Even with all this some scientists decided they wanted to try their hands at being gods and create an oil that was fit for human consumption…and the canola plant was “born” in the 1970s. Some Canadian scientists went into a lab and used “traditional” plant practices to create canola. Pause, what in the world seems traditional about something being created in a lab by man? Nothing is the correct answer. Top that with the fact that 90% of the canola crop is GMO and we’ve got a recipe for disaster.

Now we know that it’s manmade, farmers have only been able to grow it for the last 40 years or so because IT DIDN’T EXIST BEFORE THAT, it’s likely GMO, and 100% unnatural. It gets worse. The way they extract the oil and process it makes something already so horrible even more horrible as if it were possible. Click here to see an awesome video about how canola oil is made (fun fact: includes bleach…yummy!).

Want to know more about the glorious canola oil? It was originally called LEAR which stood for low erucic acid rapeseed but since that didn’t sell too hot they changed it to CANadian Oil Low Acid. They couldn’t keep the rapeseed name anywhere near the canola name or people may have never bought it in the first place.

I could go on to tell you all the other horrible health ramifications that come from canola oil but really you don’t need the information (you can research yourself if you really do) to know that when something has such a dark history, it should be nowhere near your body! And if you dare try to come at me with the whole “it’s heart healthy…helps with cholesterol ” crap, I will come at you with this: I’ve heard bleach kills cancer but we aren’t subscribing that as the cure now are we?

Do you see now how Whole Foods, Earth Fare, Trader Joe’s and many more places that sell anything with canola oil are lying straight to your face? Maybe I didn’t make it clear enough in my post.

How can they market something as organic when it was manufactured in a lab some 40 years ago? There is no such thing as organic canola oil.

How can they put it in everything and still market their store and ingredients as healthy and natural? What’s natural about a lab and some scientists? What’s healthy about something that is bleached before it hits the shelves? What’s healthy about inflammation?

I just cannot believe how they lie to you.  I 100% can believe how they lie to you but I will not stand back and keep my mouth shut! Please stop buying canola oil….even the so-called “organic” kind. Please don’t believe the lies these stores are selling you.

Kristina

p.s. There are plenty more lies and plenty more oils to avoid, soybean for example, so do your homework.

I use olive oil, coconut oil, or butter/ghee when I cook. Think words like natural, whole, real, simple and it will help you eliminate most of the CRAP oils and foods consumed these days. Get back to the basics to truly live a healthy life!

Leave a Reply

