10 weeks. 10 pounds. Week four update. + more

Have you heard about this?

Or this?

How about this one?

This?

The world is getting sicker by the day. You may think these are all unrelated crazy sick things happening in the world but I don’t. I see them as the world getting sicker, day by day, minute by minute.

Moving on to week 4 of my weight loss challenge which is still not panning out quite like expected. I should just go ahead and change the title to 10 weeks gain close to 10 pounds challenge since that’s what it has boiled down to. I’m just keeping it real guys.

I’ve been doing some research into my running as I may have mentioned in the last couple posts and I’ve determined that maybe running isn’t the best thing…for like…anyone…for like an over extended amount of time.

To sum it up: over-running, endurance training, can be very taxing on your heart, on your hormones, and may not be the optimal choice of exercise for overall health and I’m sure there’s more.

I know. I know. It’s all a lot to deal with but in week 5 I have cut back on my running to 1 or 2 days and for 20 minutes instead of 30. I’ve exchanged running for HIIT but I will discuss more of that in my week 5 update.

Back to some of the research.

So what might endurance training do to your thyroid hormones? Well, the research isn’t exactly clear but here are some things to consider: from Dr. K, from runnersconnect, from livestrong, from about.com and stress and your thyroid.

What about your heart and overall well being? Stress and your heart, moderation in runningkeep up to date on your research, safer running, and scarring on your heart.

In short, research is showing us that endurance training like running may not be so hot for your thyroid and your heart. Your body can be overstressed by endurance training like such….too much stress = not optimal health and wellness. I am not telling you not to run or exercise. We NEED to do these things for our health but too much of a good thing may be a bad thing? Yeah, I think with endurance training it may be the case.

And when I think about in the most basic way it boils down to something like this in my head:

So, exercise = stress and too much stress can be bad for your body in any form. Does your body understand why it’s under all that stress when you’re running for so long?

So, I want my exercise to be as close to “natural” as possible as it can be. Back in the day before processed foods took over every shelf in the grocery store and we all became couch potatoes people didn’t go to the gym, walk, run, do jumping jacks, burpees, or workout videos and if they did walk or run or swim or whatever it usually wasn’t to “stay in shape” was it? It usually was like normal life that lead them to that point right? You had to carry your water to your village, you had to be outside in your garden, you had to run or die, you had to do this kinda stuff and it was normal. And, I would like my exercise to be as close to this as possible. So would it be normal for me to run…like 4 or 5 miles a day…just because? Most likely not.

So should your body be using all it’s glycogen stores to help you run long distances or was that storage there for another more practical reason?

And more thoughts go through my head.

Remember guys, this is a learning and growing blog. As I learn and grow I will share with you. If I’m wrong or right, I’m learning and growing and hopefully you are too.

Here’s how week 4 went for me.

week4

 

I was so sore until Tuesday after my race. All I could bring myself to do was stretch and getting back to running was hard. I knew I could run but my mind told me I couldn’t. Was it hard for any of you after running a 10k to get back into routine?

Vanity is still winning in the fight against dry brushing. I just ran across an article on how good dry brushing is for you and I’m mad at myself for letting vanity get the best of me but I’m still not willing to destroy my beautiful summer tan. Does anyone know if dry brushing will hurt my tan? I wasn’t able to find a definitive answer online.

I went to EarthFare and Whole Foods and no wheatgrass to be found. Makes me mad. I only get my juices/smoothies/wheatgrass from one place in Tallahassee and that’s Axios and didn’t have time last week but I did get one this week (week5).

I’ll never get to bed by 10:30 I don’t think. Nor will I make the time for me to have a detox bath as often as I should. Since one-two times a month was my norm I wanted to up my game and I still have time to keep trying!

I did finally complete a one day juice fast this week (week5), go me and my hubby joined me! And my squat challenge is going nicely. Anyone else doing it with me?

Stay tuned for more updates next week!

And if you’ve missed the last couple weeks, check them out: week 1, week 2, week 3, and the post that started it all.

Kristina

Leave a Reply

