10 weeks. 10 pounds. Week three update.

I am so happy to finally have the time to post! I can see why people devote their whole lives to blogging cause it really takes some effort. Week 3 of 10 week 10 pounds challenge was intense to say the least.

I ran my first 10k! Yes, I ran the whole thing and yes, it felt amazing. Oddly, the first 4 miles were the most intense of them all, the last 2 were a breeze and I felt like I could keep running forever!!! But after running for over an hour I was glad to finish in 399th place…. Can I get a hallelujah? Word on the street is the first guy finished in under 35 minutes which is clearly pure insanity.

Hmmm. So now my 10 weeks 10 pounds challenge has some interesting dynamics to work out since I’ve gained some weight since I started. I’ve done some research into why this could happen but let me first tell you that this is why I do not own a scale in my house and I rarely, if ever, weigh myself. I’ve gained weight but I’ve been running for over a month. I’ve gained weight but my clothes fit and feel the same. I’ve gained weight but my food habits haven’t changed and it’s hard to confirm by usual standards, since I told count calories either, but I am certain I am not eating a crap ton of more calories to make up for all my running. In fact, people would probably say I am eating too little but I would say, get out of my face, I eat plenty. At the end of the day, I listen to my body and go by that not what “people” say and you should do the same.

Anyways, I don’t own a scale and I hate them because of this exact phenomena. The scale is just a number and it tells very little of your true health. Even for me, who is simply doing this challenge just for the heck of it, the number psyched me out. I tried not to let it get to me but it kinda does. Nothing feels super great about gaining weight, especially when you cannot tell if toning is the end result or if you’re just gaining weight. Sure if I had gained weight and whole body looked like Jennifer Anniston I may feel better but it doesn’t.

I think it’s a good lesson to remember this:

0b2a4881b456e86b4e06728cb6ff731d

Moving on. I did do some digging into why I had gained weight mainly because I think it’s important you learn and grow and I wasn’t going to sit back and gain weight and not know some reasons why.

Reason number one: muscle. I could be gaining muscle…but how much muscle could I really have after a month of running and toning? Also, it is most definitely not that muscle weighs more than fat. A pound of fat is a pound of fat and a pound of muscle is a pound of muscle. Cause a pound is a pound. Instead, fat takes up more space (volume) in the body which makes you look….fat. Muscle does help you in the calorie department and may help you look and feel thinner.

Reason number two: glycogen stores. What is glycogen? Simply put, it’s glucose your body has stored and is ready to use when energy is needed for the body. Think of it as your reserve fuel. Guess what else? It doesn’t need need oxygen to provide energy. All these things sound important to running right, right? Yes, and it’s very important and needed to successfully run but it can also lead to weight gain through water retention.

Reason number three: just because. Because somethings just happen. Because I haven’t weighed myself since last week but I could go weigh myself today and have lost all the weight and that would be that. Our bodies are amazing and sometimes things happen just because.

Moving on to the actual point of this post which is to update you on week three.

Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 2.29.46 PM

 

Look, I figured out how to make it readable…so proud. Anyways, I managed to get my detox bath in, hooray! Also, as you can see I haven’t been on point with my dry brushing and this is because of one word: vanity. Yes, it’s summertime now and I want to hold on to my tan…. I’m nervous dry brushing will get rid of it but need/should do more research.

Okay, so week 4 is almost over. I’m on vacation, enjoying the beautiful sounds of the gulf and drinking green juice by the sea. Can’t wait to update you on some other interesting fun facts soon.

If you missed by last 2 weeks check them out here and here.

Oh and I almost forgot, who wants to do this with me? 25fd5efccc8c925091700a005c92e40e

Sources:

http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/doctors-bust-medical-myths-and-lies?page=2

http://www.weightwatchers.com/util/art/index_art.aspx?tabnum=1&art_id=8311&sc=128

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK21190/

http://runnersconnect.net/running-training-articles/cience-of-bonking-and-glycogen-depletion/

http://healthyliving.azcentral.com/muscles-water-retention-running-14026.html

One thought on “10 weeks. 10 pounds. Week three update.

  1. 10 weeks. 10 pounds. Week four update. + more – my wonderful craziness

Leave a Reply

